

Legislative Assembly of Alberta The 31st Legislature First Session

Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee

Yao, Tany, Fort McMurray-Wood Buffalo (UC), Chair van Dijken, Glenn, Athabasca-Barrhead-Westlock (UC), Deputy Chair

Dach, Lorne, Edmonton-McClung (NDP) Dyck, Nolan B., Grande Prairie (UC) Getson, Shane C., Lac Ste. Anne-Parkland (UC)* Irwin, Janis, Edmonton-Highlands-Norwood (NDP) Petrovic, Chelsae, Livingstone-Macleod (UC) Pitt, Angela D., Airdrie-East (UC) Sabir, Irfan, Calgary-Bhullar-McCall (NDP) Stephan, Jason, Red Deer-South (UC) Wright, Peggy K., Edmonton-Beverly-Clareview (NDP)

* substitution for Jason Stephan

Public Service Commission Participants

Julie Barron Trish Mills Executive Search Consultant, Executive Search Director, Executive Search

Support Staff

Shannon Dean, KC	Clerk
Teri Cherkewich	Law Clerk
Trafton Koenig	Senior Parliamentary Counsel
Philip Massolin	Clerk Assistant and Director of House Services
Nancy Robert	Clerk of Journals and Committees
Abdul Bhurgri	Research Officer
Christina Williamson	Research Officer
Warren Huffman	Committee Clerk
Jody Rempel	Committee Clerk
Aaron Roth	Committee Clerk
Rhonda Sorensen	Manager of Corporate Communications
Christina Steenbergen	Supervisor of Communications Services
Lyndsay Tischer	Director of Human Resources
Shannon Parke	Communications Consultant
Janet Schwegel	Director of Parliamentary Programs
Amanda LeBlanc	Deputy Editor of Alberta Hansard

9 a.m.

Friday, April 26, 2024

[Mr. Yao in the chair]

The Chair: Good morning, everybody. Can you hear us okay? Fantastic.

I'd like to call this meeting of the Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee to order.

I'm Tany Yao. I'm the MLA for Fort McMurray-Wood Buffalo and chair of the committee. I'll ask that members and those joining the committee at the table introduce themselves for the record, and then I'll call on those joining us remotely.

We will begin to my right. Ms Irwin.

Member Irwin: Janis Irwin, Edmonton-Highlands-Norwood.

Ms Wright: Peggy Wright, MLA, Edmonton-Beverly-Clareview.

Ms Barron: Julie Barron, executive search.

Ms Mills: Trish Mills, executive search.

Ms Robert: Good morning. Nancy Robert, clerk of *Journals* and committees.

Ms Rempel: Jody Rempel, committee clerk.

The Chair: Mr. Dyck.

Mr. Dyck: MLA Dyck for Grande Prairie.

The Chair: Mr. van Dijken.

Mr. van Dijken: Glenn van Dijken, Athabasca-Barrhead-Westlock.

The Chair: Mr. Getson.

Mr. Getson: MLA Getson, Lac Ste. Anne-Parkland.

The Chair: Mr. Dach.

Mr. Dach: Lorne Dach, MLA, Edmonton-McClung.

The Chair: Mrs. Petrovic.

Mrs. Petrovic: Chelsae Petrovic, MLA, Livingstone-Macleod.

The Chair: Thank you so much.

I would note for the record that Mr. Getson is intended to be a permanent substitution for Mr. Stephan.

A few housekeeping items to address before we turn to the business at hand. Unless we move in camera, committee proceedings are being streamed on the Internet and broadcast on Alberta Assembly TV. Committee members are encouraged whenever possible to have your camera on when you are speaking. The audio- and videostream and transcripts of meetings can be accessed via the Legislative Assembly website. Please set your cellphones on mute whenever possible.

I'm looking for a member to move a motion to adopt the agenda, please. Ms Wright moves that the Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee approve the proposed agenda as distributed for its April 26, 2024, meeting. All in favour in the room, please say aye. On the phones, all in agreement? All opposed? That motion is carried. Thank you so much. All right. Up next we have the draft minutes from our last meeting. Are there any errors to note? If not, would someone move to approve these, please? I'm looking for a motion.

Member Irwin: I can move.

The Chair: Oh, thank you so much. Ms Irwin moves that the Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee approve the minutes as distributed of its meeting held on April 23, 2024. All in favour, please say aye. Actually, I'll just ask once if anyone is opposed. Seeing none, that motion is carried. Thank you all so much.

Hi there. Can you please - Angela, is that you?

Ms Pitt: Yeah. It's Angela Pitt, MLA, Airdrie-East. I'm so sorry. I can't – this link to get online is not working. I don't know why.

The Chair: Ms Rempel will send it to you again, and we'll see if we can get you on. We do need facial recognition to - no. Try once more. If not, you're still able to vote and everything, just via phone.

Mr. Dach: Chair, one question. Last vote you failed to ask those on the mic if they were opposed. You just opened it to the room.

The Chair: Ah, sorry. Thank you so much for that. Sorry. I got distracted by all the late folks here.

Mr. Sabir, can you please introduce yourself for the record? All right. We're just having some technical difficulties here. Mr. Sabir, can you hear us okay?

Mr. Sabir: I can't hear you.

The Chair: You cannot hear us?

We're just dealing with two people.

Ms Pitt, would you mind introducing yourself for the record on the phone?

Ms Pitt: Angela Pitt, MLA, Airdrie-East.

The Chair: Thank you so much for that.

Mr. Sabir, can you hear us now?

While we try to figure out these technical difficulties, I will go back to the motion to approve the minutes as distributed. Sorry. We'll just do a revote.

Mr. Sabir: I can hear you now.

The Chair: Ah, there we go. Mr. Sabir, can you please introduce yourself for the record?

Mr. Sabir: Yeah. Irfan Sabir, MLA, Calgary-Bhullar-McCall.

The Chair: Perfect. For the benefit of our two late attendees, we were just approving the minutes from the previous meeting. Ms Irwin moved that the Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee approve the minutes as distributed of its meeting held on April 23, 2024. All in favour in the room, please say aye. On the phones, all in favour of this, please say aye. Anyone opposed on the phones? Seeing none, that motion is carried. Thank you so much.

Today we're going to be continuing our discussion around the recruitment of the Ethics Commissioner. To respect the privacy of the applicants, it would be appropriate to move in camera. Could I have a motion, please? Ms Wright moves that the Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee, including the appropriate representatives from the Legislative Assembly Office and from executive search, move in camera. All in favour, please say aye. On the phones? Is there anyone opposed? Seeing none, that motion is carried, and we're going to move in camera.

Just give us a moment as the staff clear out of the room.

[The committee met in camera from 9:08 a.m. to 9:47 a.m.]

The Chair: All right. Thank you, everybody. We're now back on the record.

Do members have anything for discussion under other business? In the room? On the phones? Seeing none, the next meeting is scheduled for May 6.

Would a member please make a motion to adjourn? Member Irwin moves that the April 26, 2024, meeting of the Select Special Ethics Commissioner and Chief Electoral Officer Search Committee be adjourned. All in favour, please say aye. On the phones? Thank you for that. Anyone opposed? Seeing none, that motion is carried.

This meeting is now concluded. Thank you all so much. Try to enjoy the weekend.

[The committee adjourned at 9:48 a.m.]

Published under the Authority of the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta